110

mentary appropriations. The following corporations are classified as proprietary corporations in Schedule D to the act:

Air Canada

Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

Cape Breton Development Corporation

Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation

Eldorado Aviation Limited

Eldorado Nuclear Limited

Export Development Corporation

Farm Credit Corporation

Federal Business Development Bank

Federal Mortgage Exchange Corporation

Freshwater Fish Marketing Corporation

National Railways, as defined in the Canadian National-Canadian Pacific Act

Northern Transportation Company Limited

Petro-Canada

Pilotage Authorities

Atlantic Pilotage Authority

Great Lakes Pilotage Authority

Laurentian Pilotage Authority

Pacific Pilotage Authority

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority

Seaway International Bridge Corporation Limited (formerly Cornwall International Bridge

Company Limited)

Teleglobe Canada.

Departmental corporations are governed by the provisions of the Financial Administration Act that are applicable to departments generally. Agency and proprietary corporations are subject to the provisions of the Crown corporations part of the act; if there is any inconsistency between its provisions and those of any other act applicable to a corporation, the latter prevail. The same part provides for control and regulation of corporation budgets and bank accounts, turning over surplus money to the Receiver General, providing loans for limited working-capital purposes, awarding contracts and establishing reserves, keeping and auditing accounts, and preparing financial statements and reports for submission to Parliament through the appropriate minister.

A further form of control is exercised by Parliament through the power to vote financial assistance to a corporation, which may secure financing through parliamentary grants, loans or advances, by the issue of capital stock to the government, or by borrowings from the private sector of the general public, sometimes with a government guarantee. Several corporations finance all or a

portion of their requirements from their own resources or earnings.

Before 1952 Crown corporations did not pay corporate income taxes. However, the Income Tax Act was amended, effective January 1, 1952, to make proprietary Crown corporations subject to the Income Tax Act in the same manner as any privately owned corporation; it is now possible to make a more realistic comparison of the financial statements of these Crown companies with those of private industry, and thus assess the relative efficiency of their operations. Crown corporations also pay provincial retail sales taxes, gasoline or motor vehicle fuel taxes and motor vehicle fees subject to the terms of the Crown Corporations (Provincial Taxes and Fees) Act of 1964.

Unclassified corporations. The following Crown corporations are not classified in the Financial Administration Act but are governed by their own acts of incorporation: the Bank of Canada, the Canada Council, the Canadian National Railways Securities Trust, the Canadian Wheat Board, and the National Arts Centre Corporation. The only provision of the Financial Administration Act to which they are subject is that governing the appointment of auditors, although the Governor in Council has the power in some instances to add an unclassified corporation to one of the schedules to the Financial Administration Act.